Basic Bitches Are People Too

A few years ago, I coveted a certain bag. I had to have it. I pined for months over this bag. I felt that it was the coolest bag ever and therefore I would be the coolest mom ever. This bag was a giant Michael Kors bag. My plan was to use it in lieu of a diaper bag. See? Cool mom. I finally bought it for my birthday and treasured it dearly, beaming with pride every time I was paid a compliment for it. This pride and joy lasted for a few years until one day I saw this

basic1

And this

basic2

And this

basic3

I was devastated.

My biggest fear realized, I was basic. Or, best case scenario, this bag was giving off the appearance that I was. Immediate action was taken and the bag was relegated to the back of my closet never to be used again.

Since then I’ve tried to stay vigilant and avoid being basic at all costs (heaven forbid), worrying about my clothes, shoes, the hair colour I was choosing, basically, the image of myself I was putting out there. But that’s kind of silly, isn’t it? The whole philosophy behind the criticism of basic is about people not being their authentic selves and instead just following a crowd thoughtlessly. From that perspective I wasn’t being basic by buying that Michael Kors bag, I was being authentic. I valued it because it gave me a better, more attractive alternative to the diaper bag. I was proud of myself for thinking outside the box and coming up with a diaper bag solution that met my needs. I didn’t buy it for status. I live in the suburbs, past all the bridges and tunnels. There is no status to gain. And that’s cool with me.

The first post I wrote for Style For The Priv was about holding judgement, of ourselves and of others. (Thank You). Calling other people basic, or worrying if you’re decisions make you basic or not is a terrible way to spend your energy. Because Who Cares. At Privilege we not only welcome Basic Bitches, we embrace them. We are them. Life’s hard enough without stressing about what other people think or worrying about what other people are choosing to do. How about instead of worrying what other people think just buy something if it makes you happy. How about instead of worrying about what other people are doing, wearing, or drinking (pumpkin spice latte? yes please!), worry about yourself and how you can be improving, helping or creating good in some way or another. As I said before, catty, mean girls are so boring.

And if you love something, and you want it, and it’s in your budget, buy it you basic bitch! (Like we talked about here)

*disclaimer: I don’t actually like pumpkin spice lattes. Never tried one. I was just making a basic joke.

~Lindsey Strang

Lindsey lives in Canada and stays home with her two girls. She has a degree in Communications that makes for good wall art in her den if nothing else. You can find her sense of humour on Instagram at daysofourshittylives.

IMAGES: source, source, source

